Tuesday, August 12 2012

Posted on August 17, 2012. Filed under: Cancer | Tags: , , , |

Last night, I had dinner with L. Every time we meet for dinner, which is only a few times a year, we close the restaurant. Yesterday was no exception. We start like old ladies trading symptoms and wind up trading hysterical scenarios.

I’ve been concerned about how to visit my mom who is in a nursing home in Eau Claire, Wisconsin. I am her legal guardian because she dementia. She still knows who I am, but she sometimes thinks my children are small or that her brothers are still alive. Sometimes I wonder if people who aren’t “all here” are simply somewhere else. She claims my dad visits her now and then.

As her guardian, I try to check in on her at least once a year, but this year is different. Not only have I had non-stop treatments, I think she would see my peach-fuzz hair and know the deal, which I have successfully kept from her. After all, she has dementia, not stupidity.

I was expressing my reservations to L who suggested telling her that Scott shaved my head in my sleep for a joke. I could draw a handlebar mustache on my face with a marker for extra believability. Funny, but probably not the way to go. Which is worse: Having my confused mother learning I have cancer or have her thinking I’m married to an immature dork who has the maturity level of a frat boy?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Tuesday, August 12 2012”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

What a sense of humor! I know you’re busy during the day with your treatments, but I’d love to talk to you any evening ❤


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

