Friday, August 24, 2012

Posted on August 24, 2012. Filed under: Cancer | Tags: , |

The first results are in and there’s no evidence of APL leukemia cooties from my bone marrow biopsy on Wednesday. Yay! I still have to go back for two rounds of chemo (one week each with four weeks off in between). They expect my numbers to go wacky, so I will have to go in for two weekly blood tests and I might need more transfusions. Still not a bad deal.

Had a nice lunch today with M. He always gets me back on my creative track. I realize I need to be more disciplined. With clients, I find deadlines motivating. With my own work? Not so much. Right now, I’m going to have a fun weekend. You do the same.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “Friday, August 24, 2012”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

That’s great news Emily!

Excellent! Have a fantastic weekend, Emily!

I’m an APL survivor…. 6 weeks inpatient at first with daunarubicin, and some bag they hung daily for 24hrs/day x 8 days….ATRA, then arsenic, more ATRA, methotrexate, and mercaptopurine … it was brutal, but I’ve been in remission since the 5th week of being diagnosed in April 2010.
Hang in there- the fatigue is something I hadn’t expected. I’ve done some blogging about it here. Nice to meet you !

Thanks so much for sharing your story with me. Great to hear you’re doing well.

I’m interested in other people’s stories, since I don’t know anybody who has been through APL treatment- I was stuck in the hospital for 6 weeks at the start, got 12 units of packed red cells and 13 units of platelets. It was crazy ! I’m an RN, and know lab work fairly well, but the whole cancer thing was foreign on a personal level. I’d watched my mom with both breasts removed, a part of one lung removed, and brain metastasis- but nothing prepares someone for their own diagnosis- I’m finding that blogging is so helpful, since only the people who want to know hear about it; some people just can’t deal- and that’s where they are at- but it’s still good to be able to get it ‘out’ ! 🙂 Best of luck to you!

I can definitely relate Jillinois – my grandfather passed away when I was a kid from lung cancer, and my mom fought (and beat) breast cancer when I was in middle school. Then a year and a half ago, my girlfriend’s mom got breast cancer, and I helped her deal with that.

But nothing really prepares you for someone saying “You have leukemia”. Bit of a butt kicker, as it were.

So glad to hear your numbers are behaving and doing what they’re supposed to do! Enjoy the holiday weekend and make sure you do something fun 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

