Monday, September 10, 2012 Take a hit of chemo…

Posted on September 10, 2012. Filed under: Cancer | Tags: , , , |

Last week, I was doing pretty well. This week is starting out rocky. The three doses of chemo I had at the end of last week hit me yesterday, so I’ve spent a lot of time in a horizontal position…and not in a good way! I couldn’t even crawl to the Mill last night. I was also a little nauseous, but a pill took it away.

This week, I’m off from treatment, but I need to go in on Wednesday for blood levels. If things are down, I might need a transfusion. We’ll see. When the numbers are up again, they’ll give me three more doses (in two to four weeks). Rinse and repeat. Then, only meds for a year. Not sure how what those will do, or if I’ll get used to them over time.

The Intouchables

I didn’t see the Stand Up 2 Cancer show that was broadcast on all networks last week. While it would be great to figure out a cure, there’s so much money in treatment, I’m not optimistic. OK…yes, I’m a jaded old lady. And, because there are so many types of cancers, it seems unlikely that there’s a silver bullet.

Since I have enough of cancer in my life, we went to see “The Intouchables,” a French film about a zillionaire who hires a street kid to take care of him. It was GREAT! True story too. Saturday, we went to my mother-in-laws for the movie, “The Hunger Games.” Very intense, but interesting and unapologetically a commentary about the 1 percent.

Take the Floor
For a long time, there has been a beige-ish carpet in our dining room and living room. Today, Scott had a carpet guy come over and pull up our nasty carpet in the dining room. This means, he did a lot of furniture moving. The carpet is old and underneath is beautiful terrazzo marble, so I suggested we just pull it up and maybe go for an area rug or runner if it ends up being cold in there. The problem is, now we have to find someone to touch up and polish the marble, but it looks better already. I think it just might be one of those things that we ask ourselves why we waited so long.

Cheers to Scott
I’ve been meaning to dedicate some time to giving my awesome husband huge kudos for being so incredibly supportive through all this. He’s been a rock. He’s been there for me every step of the way. He’s always listening for ways to make my wishes come true. Hence, the floor. But that’s just one thing. There have been gobs of other things. From flushing my Picc lines to nagging me about my meds or making lists of questions for the docs or doing laundry…Scott, thanks. I love you.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Monday, September 10, 2012 Take a hit of chemo…”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

Oh, Emily…. It’s all so hard, but when Joyce first told me about your condition, she said that it was so bad that it could have killed you in a couple of weeks. It’s been amazing how much you have accomplished and how well you have lived during this time. I tell you, your social life makes me tired just reading about it! You are a huge inspiration and it’s been fun to “get to know you” through this blog. Keep at it!

Has Scott lost a ton of weight? He looks so skinny! Good for him! Give him a big hug for me. He is one of my favorite people in the whole wide world! You two are lucky to have each other!

Joyce is right. This bug takes you out pretty quickly if you don’t get treatment. I’m glad I felt something was wrong. I’m lucky to have so many great people around me who are wonderful distractions.

Yes, Scott has lost weight I wouldn’t call him skinny yet, but he’s working on it. He’s a good inspiration for me. When I get through this, I’m going to tackle my weight. Hmmm…chemo is probably easier than that.

Give your husband a hug from this internet stranger. My sister and parents have been so unbelievable that I think we need a charity devoted to the “supporters of people with cancer” type deal. All the money raised could go towards just giving them like full body massages or something, just to try to give them some time to relax and not have to worry so much all the time.

I swear, my family is more worried about me than I am.

I hope the chemo garbage wears off soon!

Yes! My husband would love regular massages. You’re right about them being more worried than I am. I think my daughters are feeling more confident since I’ve gotten this far, but they were definitely more freaked than me at first. I am fully confident I will get through this. Sounds like you are too. I figure, even if I don’t, thinking so makes each day way easier. 🙂

Exactly! Either way, your body is gonna do what its gonna do. Might as well enjoy as much of the ride as you can, while you can.

I think its a good philosophy regardless of the cancer, to be honest.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

