Sunday, October 28, 2012

Posted on October 29, 2012. Filed under: Cancer, Family, Just fun!, Poems |

Yesterday, I redefined “tired” and slept almost all afternoon. Later, we went to a great Halloween party and I still went to sleep when we got home. The party was a hoot with an

I look like I have something growing out of my head.

assortment of creative costumes from Big Boy to the 50 Shades of Jennifer Gray. Fun!  While Scott was “safari guy” last week, this week he was Indiana Jones. Same costume, different name.

Meanwhile, Veronica went to Virginia Beach earlier in the week for her friend’s wedding. Unfortunately, hurricane Sandy crashed the wedding. From Veronica’s intermittent texts, it seems she moved to a large beach house. The police came by and told them they’d let them know if they need to evacuate. Mom that I am, I have been Googling the area for weather updates and local webcams. I’m not counting on her coming home on Tuesday as planned. Halloween just became a little scarier.

Another friend is in Hawaii where they just cancelled a tsunami warning. Tomorrow, they expect 20 foot waves on Lake Michigan. Wild weather everywhere!

This afternoon, I ventured to the Rhino Poetry Forum for a workshop led by an awesome poet, Laura Dixon. There, I gained a new appreciation for the kind of poems that seem to be written in another language, except the words are in English.  I brought a poem of my own for comments and wasn’t disappointed. I’m planning on placing it in a painting and needed some objective thoughts before permanently installing the text. I had planned to come home, do a few chores and hit the Mill, but time got away from me and I ended up crossing a few things off my “to-do” list instead– including this blog update… I hope I don’t have poetry withdrawal later in the week.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Sunday, October 28, 2012”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

You have alot of joy in your life . . .
Your life is rich . . .
Sleep when you feel like it . . .
everything will wait.
I know we are not programed that way –
It seems contrary to our female, 1950’s kid, DNA.
I am the ‘queen of sleep’.
All afternoon is nothing –
I have you beat on that.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

