A Taste of the Old Normal—Sweet!

Posted on November 21, 2012. Filed under: Cancer |

In cancer circles, expressed frustrations are met with, “You have to get used to the new normal.” Ugh. I want my old normal and last week I was busy achieving it.

The seeds were planted several weeks ago when Ed, my art teacher told us about an artist who was to have a show at his studio. He was in Chicago for a reading because he’d submitted some stories to a journal and they were selected. I asked what journal and he said it was the Fifth Wednesday Journal. Wow. I designed a program and a flyer for them last winter for an event at the Poetry Foundation. I worked with the founder, Vern Miller. I shared that with Ed. Another small world story.

Meanwhile, I reconnected with Vern and told him I’d learned of Philip Sultz, the artist/writer. He invited me to come to the reading at a nearby bookstore, and I figured I’d try to make it. I also proceeded to submit some poems to Fifth Wednesday, as I’d been promising myself I was going to do for quite awhile.

The gallery show last Thursday was great with lots of interesting work and people. I spoke with Sultz and was impressed. He was studying at Cranbrook when I was in diapers. He’s had many shows throughout his life and the writing is a new thing. The next evening we headed for the Book Cellar for the reading. I took Scott for many reasons, but mostly because I thought he might like it. We walked there which counted for my exercise for the day. Sultz’ stories were pure fun, short reminisces about a guy who’s a little rough around the edges. Scott enjoyed it and I had a chance to reconnect with some writers and poets I haven’t seen lately.

Then came an invitation to join a friend at the armory on Broadway for a craft fair on Saturday. I was feeling a little trepidation about being up for that long without a break, but I did it. Maybe I’m being too cautious? Anyway, it was great fun and creatively a little kick in the butt. We topped off the event with an authentic alcoholic drink across the street. OMG… I can count on one hand the number of drinks I’ve had this year and this one was luscious. Amaretto, cider, cinnamon and who knows what else! I’m told I shouldn’t drink, but sometimes you just have to not give a damn.

That night, Scott and I chased a movie called Chasing Ice, a documentary about a guy who placed cameras around the arctic to document the disappearance of glaciers. Beautiful photography and documentation of global warming effects. Of course I went to the Mill on Sunday, but not until later. I had a little recouping to do.

See, I’m not trying to get back to extreme sports, just the rich and stimulating life I’ve become accustomed to. I guess I’ve become like an electric car: I can run, but I need more juicing up between trips. Good enough.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “A Taste of the Old Normal—Sweet!”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

That’s awesome, and so are you 🙂

Thanks! Have a great holiday, Susana.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

