Visiting the Maintenance Man

Posted on December 2, 2012. Filed under: Cancer | Tags: , , , |

The holiday decorations are emerging and I’m feeling that it’s weird to go to the Cancer Center when it’s cold. Definitely reminds me that I’ve spent a good deal of this year dealing with this leukemia thing. This week, I had an appointment with Dr. G, the first meeting since I’ve been on “maintenance.”

Maintenance is the long-term drug regimen that is supposed to keep the leukemia cooties from returning. Rather than a janitorial activity, it’s more like when you have your home exterminated, but the exterminators return every month to keep it bug-free.

I was very open with Dr. G about getting a second opinion from Dr. V, who basically thought Dr. G’s approach was fine. My understanding was that the plan was a condensed version of the “usual plan” because I could tolerate the drugs so well. The side effects made me wonder if I should. That was my primary thought as Scott and I found a parking place in the crowded Kellogg Cancer Center mini-lot.

Once my blood test numbers were in, we met with Dr. G who threw a curve ball. He was excited about returning from a recent conference. Apparently, there was much discussion about how MY goofy brand of leukemia should be treated. Some docs saw no need for any maintenance when the patient’s bone marrow biopsy was clear at a molecular level, which mine was. Others liked the three meds for two years. Dr. G. thought that maybe he could be a little less aggressive than originally planned.

Given my side effects—which now include itchy, scaly patches of skin on my back and arms, along with mega-fatigue and a bunch of lesser issues—he dropped two of the prescriptions! He left ATRA in the mix, which is a mega-dose of vitamin A. As planned, I will take 10 pills a day for 7 days every other week for a year. We’ll see what that brings.

I’ve written before that I always suspected I’d be hit with a health challenge in my 50s. So far, I beat breast cancer, leukemia (hand me that wood chopping block to knock on) and I’ll be 59 in January. If I can get to 60 in 2014, I’ll be good for a couple of decades at least. I know this just like I knew something would hit me in my 50s. For this reason, I’m comfortable with some form of maintenance and might even ask Dr. G to drag it out until I hit 60. They say things come in threes. Hopefully, not this time!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Visiting the Maintenance Man”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

IS THAT GREAT! You got even more opinions from Dr G without going anywhere else. Things only come in 3’s if you believe it. I feel that if you learn what you need to know to reach toward your – ‘higher self’, ‘full potential’, ‘God Self’ +++, and DO IT, you don’t need anymore ‘challenges’.
I am still learning from my challenges . . .

OH, I’m sure there will be challenges. Hopefully not big ones.

Keep up with your possitve attitude, and remember the body listens ❤ U!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

