Spring and Health, It’s Been Too Long!

Posted on April 5, 2013. Filed under: Art, Cancer, Just fun! |

If blogging has taught me anything it’s that hammering at the keyboard is affirming. When I don’t write, my soul feels constipated. This blog also makes me feel heard. So here’s another installment.

PushIMG_7077ing Forward with a Painting Career
In my effort to make painting into a “real” business, I have been exploring a lot of avenues. I was happy to speak with an art consultant about my work and how I can build it. I joined several arts organizations. I started art class again. I inventoried my paintings and am creating a catalog. Scott helped by measuring everything and taking tons of photos. I filled out a grant application and have another one cooking. I’m proud that I’ve been able to do this much, but I feel like I’m just scratching the surface. I guess that’s not too bad for someone whose energy level couldn’t light a 40-watt appliance bulb.

I also finished another “poem painting.” Meanwhile, I will be showing some work at August House Studio in May. Here’s the scoop:

15th Annual Waterworks Exhibitionwaterworks-2013-rev

This year will be the 15th Annual Waterworks exhibition – Aqua-media works on paper by students of the Ed Hinkley Classes. The exhibit will be held at the  August House Gallery, 2113 W. Roscoe from May 5 – 19.

Exhibit Dates: May 5 – May 19, 2013
An opening reception will be held Sunday May 5, from 1 to 5 pm.

Gallery hours through the exhibit will be
Thursday through Saturday May 9, 10, 11, and May 16, 17, 18, from 1 to 5 pm.

A closing reception will take place on Sunday May 19, 1-5 pm

Tell Us How You Really Feel
Just like spring, health is dragging. I’m on a week of ATRA every month until November, which seems SO FAR AWAY. It seems to have a cumulative effect, but I don’t want to know for sure, or I might feel worse. Better not to think about it. I was hoping I’d be feeling better by now because I start another round on Monday, but I’m still pretty sleepy, achy and shaky. (Sounds like names of a few of the seven dwarfs.) Another side effect is rashes. The weird thing is that they start on my back and work their way down my body throughout the month. So right now, my calves are all scaly. The roughness produces little sores. Nice, huh. Well, it’s an opportunity to go through all the lotion we have around here.

I am happy to have another doctor appointment with excellent blood levels on all fronts. Plus, my doctor said he’d spare me from having another bone marrow biopsy and just use a high-end analyzer to see where we stand next month. He’s saving the last bone marrow biopsy for the end of the year. Fine with me. Those things are painful!

Hair or Lack Thereof…
I went for a haircut a couple weeks ago and oh my…it’s now way too short. At least I won’t need another cut for awhile.

Spring, please.
It seems it is taking FOREVER to warm up, but I keep reminding myself that we had some 50-degree days last December, so it makes sense that things are dragging. Also, June always has a 90-degree week which is so not my favorite weather, so I should just shut up and live in the moment. Ommmmm.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

