The Cover Story

Posted on August 25, 2014. Filed under: Cancer | Tags: , , , , , , , |

Introducing...Lending Color to the Otherwise Absurd

Introducing…Lending Color to the Otherwise Absurd

After writing several posts recognizing illness as a smack upside the head to make fundamental changes in areas of life that hold one back, I looked at my bucket list and am I tackling #2. Number 1 was getting a website. The second item is getting my poems and “wall poems” published. This is a long-overdue project and I’m not very patient these days.

I took a chance and filled out a grant application for an Individual Artist Grant from the City of Chicago last spring and guess what! I got it, which means I can’t procrastinate anymore! Introducing Lending Color to the Otherwise Absurd.  With the help of some design cohorts, the book’s cover looks great and uses a painting I created with the book in mind.

I didn’t want to send my manuscript to a zillion editors, wait for one to accept it and get sent to market my book for them, so self-publishing seemed a logical choice. BookBaby.com has talked nicely to me and can accommodate the grant budget, so I’ve given the project to them. Hopefully, all will go smoothly. I am planning on a fall release date.

I’ll keep you posted.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “The Cover Story”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

You go, girl.

That is exciting – a dream, a thought manifesting !!!

Book Baby seems a little price to me . . . ?

I LOVE the cover !!!

Congratulations and good luck!

You may want to use this url

https://emilyshead.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/the-cover-story/

it is the same as click the “Read Full Post” button at the bottom.

It offers a place to rate the post.

spw

Emily, This is absolutely wonderful!! I love your title and the cover is amazing. So great that this project is off and running. Congratulations! It was great seeing you and Scott the other night. Thanks so much for coming to my opening – it meant the world to me. Love and hugs xx Susan

We so enjoyed seeing your work!

So excited. You continue to amaze and inspire!

emily, That is so exciting; Please do keep me posted.

Great news! Kudos to you. I’ve missed your posts, so never hesitate to write more often…. 🙂

That is so great, Emily!!! Did I mention that my friend, Lynn Mooney, just bought Women & children first bookstore? Do you want to do book signings?

YES! I will need to schedule signings. I was actually in there the other day to order a book a friend recommended. I could use all the help, charm or strong-arming you can muster. 🙂

This will be an awesome book — a combination of your poetry and water color. Your talent is remarkable, Em!

Love that cover, big ol’ congrats! Oh, and miss you rotten…

This is such great news. Emily. Can’t wait to buy a copy!! Reporting from my side, I plan to use October to send the picture book out again – and work on the middle grade novel. Let’s plan one of our coffee catchup sessions.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

