Discovering the Inner Spaz or See the Book this Weekend?

Posted on September 29, 2014. Filed under: Advertising & Marketing, Art, Cancer, Just fun!, Poems |

 

2014 WW Postcard-Front

You are invited to attend the 16th Annual: Waterworks+

An exhibition featuring works in watercolor and mixed media on paper, and this year showing additional works in acrylic and oil.

ED HINKLEY STUDIOS
4052 N WESTERN AVE | CHICAGO, IL 60618

OCTOBER 4 & 5, 2014   |   NOON – 5 PM

FEATURING WORK BY
Joan Berry | Mary Pat Byrne | Emily Thornton Calvo | Jane Christino  Cecelia Comito | Bradd EastonPatrick Flood | Marie-Pier Valay Guillaud  Bridget Quinn Kadolph | Molly Kuhn | Dianne Rossell

For info, contact Ed Hinkley 773-539-6047 or www.edhinkleystudio.com.


The Spaz Part

I recently received my proof copy of Lending Color to the Otherwise Absurd, my first collection of poems. Holding it in my hands for the first time was amazing. It’s like a new baby. It’s amazing.

Then I realized that this is my last chance to examine the manuscript for typos and design faux pas. If I was publishing with a hotshot publisher, I would trust them to catch this stuff. But I’m not. In lieu of the process of getting a poetry book published, I’ve decided to go solo and self-publish with BookBaby.com. During this process, I have discovered my inner spaz. That’s right. Cool, laughing Emily can be as neurotic as a bride on Day 1. I came up with that analogy during one of my calls to BookBaby. Their smooth, calm customer service rep was the poster child for attentive and reassuring. That’s when it occurred to me that he would make a great wedding planner.

Anyway, I realized that it was time to get down with my detail-oriented self, which always freaks me out because I can actually feel my brain shift into an uncomfortable yoga position. I whined to my designer/anal retentive daughter (she’s whined enough to me in her life) that I needed her to come over and peruse the book for flaws. She was very accommodating.

Between the two of us, I sent BookBaby final files that I hope are perfect. I DID get that feeling you get when no matter what happens, you know did your best.Then I called BookBaby again to see if I could get a small shipment for a gallery show I will be part of this weekend. They were able to promise 25 copies would arrive on Friday. No window for error. The details are above.  I hope you can take a few minutes to stop in and check it out.


Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Discovering the Inner Spaz or See the Book this Weekend?”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

Emily, Thanks for the invite. I am currently in Door County in a photography workshop and will not be back until Sunday. So sorry to miss your exhibit. Put me on your “buy list” for your book and please save a copy for me.

Best of luck in your exhibit and book!

Hugs 😉 Susan

Thanks. I know you’ll get some great shots.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

