Pinch me!

Posted on January 16, 2015. Filed under: Cancer, Just fun!, Lending Color to the Otherwise Absurd | Tags: |

It’s been a wild week! It all started about six weeks ago when I received an email asking women cancer survivors to audition for a part in a show. The focus is on what one does AFTER cancer, and titled, “My Second Act: Stories from the Stage.” I couldn’t resist. I hammered out my essay about embracing the artist/poet within, talked about my book, reserved a spot to audition—and was accepted into the show!

1462928_10203302010978526_5114809744852697009_n

The 2015 Cast of My 2nd Act: Stories from the Stage

Last Sunday, the ten selected women attended a table reading. It was great to meet the other women and hear their inspiring stories. There were tears and laughter and everything in between. I even learned that one of the performers car pools my granddaughter to her flute class! (Small world story.) The best thing about the show is that it’s about attitude, not cancer. Anyone who’s encountered a major hurdle, health or otherwise, will hear about how to turn the ugly into beautiful.

On Monday, I got a call from Judy, the co-founder of the organization producing the show, saying that Roz Varon, ABC7 reporter and cancer survivor, wanted to interview a couple cast members at the Athenaeum Theater on Southport on Wednesday. She asked if I was available. Why, yes, I am available.

Yesterday, ABC7 ran the segment and they managed to find the 10 seconds where I sounded halfway articulate. I am very proud to be part of this! Here’s the link to the segment.

It will be an inspiring show and I look forward to being in it! You can get tickets here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Pinch me!”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

Emily, this is way beyond cool!! You go, girl! Maria

Sent from my iPhone

>

You look great , I am so proud of you. Penny

So awesome!!!!

WOW! I am going to try and be there.

Wish we could be there in person for the show, but you know we will be there in spirit! And you are one of the most articulate women I know! Go girl!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,050 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

