Over the Hurdle and Out of the Woods

Posted on February 18, 2014. Filed under: Cancer | Tags: , , |

It’s more than two weeks into my 6th decade and I’m taking time to mark the occasion. Most of my life, I’ve had a premonition that I would have to leap over a health hurdle in my 50s. The breast cancer in 2010 wasn’t bad enough so I also was diagnosed with leukemia in 2012.

The premonition also speculated that if I survived my 50s, I would live to be 88. During the weeks preceding my birthday, I was super careful. The week before my birthday, my bloodwork showed I was still in remission. I drove with extra caution. I navigated stairs with added attention. I avoided falling ice.  If the universe was going to take me out, I wasn’t going to make it easy. So as of 8 PM on January 30, when I officially turned 60, I knew I was heading for 88. I was so happy, I shed a tear. I have renewed hope for the future. Yes! I am now 60! Take that, Universe.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

6 Responses to “Over the Hurdle and Out of the Woods”

RSS Feed for In Emily's Head Comments RSS Feed

60 is the new 30! Congratulations on this wonderful milestone. Enjoy every day of the coming decades. Kathleen Lanza

>

Thanks, Kathleen. How are things on your end? Feel free to email me at emily@emilycalvo.com.

Dear, dear emily — good for you to take charge of your life and happiness.  i will see you a week from friday after returning from las vegas and phoenix where i will celebrate my 70th!!!  YIKES!!!! love, pam………………….(hi, scott)

This will be a multiple decades celebration.

yea, take that Universe!

e, you’re such an inspiration, now I’m looking forward to celebrating our 88th BDay ❤ , how awesome is that

Date: Tue, 18 Feb 2014 00:18:15 +0000 To: icm1700@hotmail.com


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A writer and cancer survivor chronicles her renewed dedication to art and words..

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,267 other subscribers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...